Hawks With 7 All-Stars, 2 Award Finalists

The Portland Winterhawks have seven of the Western Hockey League’s Western Conference’s 12 All-Star players, as well as two finalists for year-end WHL awards.

Three players were named to the Western Conference’s First All-Star Team Thursday: goaltender Mac Carruth, defenseman Seth Jones and forward Nic Petan. Four Winterhawks were named the Second All-Star Team: defensemen Troy Rutkowski and Tyler Wotherspoon, and forwards Brendan Leipsic and Ty Rattie.

In addition, Carruth was named the Western Conference Goaltender of the Year, and Jones earned Western Conference Rookie of the Year. Carruth and Red Deer’s Patrik Bartosak are the finalists for the WHL Goaltender of the Year Award, while Jones is up against Prince Albert’s Leon Draisaitl for the WHL Rookie of the Year Award.

“To have seven of the 12 Western Conference All-Star selections is a tremendous achievement for our team, and for Mac and Seth to be award finalists is a great honor,” said Portland Winterhawks Acting Head Coach Travis Green. “I’m incredibly proud of all their accomplishments this season, and all of them are very deserving of the recognition.”

Carruth is looking to become the first Winterhawk to be named WHL Goalie of the Year since Brent Belecki in the 1997-98 season, while Jones is vying to be the team’s first Rookie of the Year since Braydon Coburn in the 2001-02 season.

Carruth and Jones will find out if they are the winners of the league awards when they’re announced at the 2013 WHL Awards Luncheon in Calgary, Alberta on Wednesday, May 1st, 2013. The WHL Player of the Year finalists will be named on Thursday, April 18th, 2013.

Group ticket packages for the 2013 WHL Playoffs are now available. Contact the Winterhawks today at 236-HAWK or email for details.

More News
2020 NHL Draft Profile | Robbie Fromm-Delorme
3 days ago
2020 NHL Draft Profile | Jaydon Dureau
3 days ago
2020 NHL Draft Profile | Dante Giannuzzi
3 days ago
2020 NHL Draft Profile | Clay Hanus
3 days ago
Meet The Future: Seth Jarvis
6 days ago
Matt Dumba named winner of NHL's King Clancy Memorial Trophy
3 weeks ago