Winterhawks to Induct Hossa, Morrow, Ference, Robinson to Hall of Fame and Will Reunite and Honor 1998 Memorial Cup Team

The Portland Winterhawks will be inducting four legendary players to their Hall of Fame, Saturday, March 10th, prior to the game between the Winterhawks and Tri-City Americans at the Veterans Memorial Coliseum. The inductees have been announced as Marian Hossa, Andrew Ference, Brenden Morrow and Todd Robinson.

The Winterhawks will also be honoring the entire 1998 Memorial Cup winning team in a pregame ceremony, with nearly all players and coaches expected to be in attendance. All four players being inducted into the Winterhawks Hall of Fame were part of the 1998 Memorial Cup winning team.

For tickets to what will be a truly historic night, click here.

Marian Hossa played in one incredibly dominant season for the Winterhawks in 1997-98 after being selected 12th overall by the Ottawa Senators in the NHL Draft. Hossa had 45 goals in 53 regular season games to lead all Portland players in scoring. Hossa would add 13 more goals in the playoffs to lead the Winterhawks to their second ever WHL Championship. In the Memorial Cup, Hossa would continue to dominate, eventually leading the Winterhawks to their second Memorial Cup win in franchise history.

Hossa has gone on to play more than 1,200 games in the NHL, scoring 500 goals and winning three Stanley Cups, all with the Chicago Blackhawks.

Andrew Ference was the backbone of the Winterhawks blueline for over 258 WHL games from 1994-1999, including every single game in Portland’s 1997-98 Memorial Cup winning season. Ference registered 184 points and 43 goals in his Winterhawks career, ranking him 6th in defensive scoring in franchise history. In 1998, he was named a WHL Western Conference First Team All-Star.

Ference went on to have a 16-year NHL career, featuring 907 games with Pittsburgh, Calgary, Boston and Edmonton. In 2011, Ference played 25 playoff games for the Bruins and win the Stanley Cup.

Brenden Morrow registered three straight years of over 30 goals and 80 points for the Winterhawks between 1995-1999. Morrow is the only Winterhawk in franchise history with more than 275 career points and 600 career penalty minutes. Morrow was also a consummate leader on and off the ice, and was eventually named captain of the Winterhawks in 1998.

Morrow would go on to play 991 regular season NHL games and 118 Stanley Cup playoff games. He also won a Gold Medal with Team Canada in the 2010 Olympic Games.

Todd Robinson is the leading scorer in Winterhawks franchise history – and 11th leading scorer in Western Hockey League history with 470 career points. He is also 4th in league history with 325 assists. Robinson spent five seasons with the Winterhawks from 1994-1999 and twice had 100-point seasons. In 1995, he was named the WHL Rookie of the Year recording 78 points in 67 games. He led all Winterhawks in playoff scoring with 27 points in 16 games during Portland’s 1998 WHL Championship run.

Robinson would go on to have an incredible 15-year pro career, officially retiring in 2014.

Players from the 1997-98 Winterhawks will be available to sign autographs for fans during the first-intermission on the concourse of the Veterans Memorial Coliseum.

Portland takes on the Seattle Thunderbirds tonight at the Veterans Memorial Coliseum. All ticket information can be found at

More News
2023 NHL Draft Profile | Jan Špunar
2 days ago
Former Winterhawks Adin Hill, Jamie Kompon representing Portland in Stanley Cup Final
1 week ago
2023 NHL Draft Preview: Winterhawks to keep an eye on
1 week ago
Five Winterhawks alumni earn medals at IIHF World Championships
2 weeks ago
Hawks in the Community: May 2023
2 weeks ago
Darby brothers look forward to potential future in Portland
3 weeks ago