Teddy Bear Toss Game Hub: December 7

Portland Winterhawks vs. Prince George Cougars

The Winterhawks (18-6-1-2) play in their 22nd annual Teddy Bear Toss game tonight against the Prince George Cougars (6-18-1-2). Portland is 16-4-1-0 all time in their Teddy Bear Toss games.

Puck Drop: 6:00 p.m. PT
Venue: Veterans Memorial Coliseum (Portland, OR)

Listen Live: Winterhawks Radio Network and on the Winterhawks App.
Plus, you can listen to the game in the arena on 87.9 FM.
Watch Live: WHL Live
Tickets: Portland vs. Prince George


Saturday night will be the third time the Winterhawks and Cougars have matched up on Portland’s Teddy Bear Toss game, with each team earning a win in the previous two meetings.

Last season, the Winterhawks set multiple records during their Teddy Bear Toss Night. Lane Gilliss scored the fastest goal in Winterhawks Teddy Bear Toss history, 2:10 into the game, as the Hawks went on to beat Spokane 8-2. The victory tied the Hawks largest margin of win during a Teddy Bear Toss and their eight goals was the most in 21 years of running the promotion. Last season, Portland donated 10,451 teddy bears.

Johnny Ludvig is the only other current rostered player to score a Teddy Bear Toss goal in his WHL career. His goal on December 9, 2018 against Everett that send the teddy bears flying was his first career goal he scored in Portland.

Click here to view Portland’s Teddy Bear Toss History

The Winterhawks swept the weekday series in Prince George on Tuesday and Wednesday, earning a 3-0 win and a come-from-behind 5-4 overtime victory. Five Winterhawks have at least three points against the Cougars this season and New York Islanders prospect Reece Newkirk recorded his 100th career WHL point with Portland in the last meeting.

On Wednesday, Portland also scored three power play goals to help them surge back from a 3-1 deficit in the third period. The Hawks currently lead the Western Conference with a 25% power play this season. Tonight, the Teddy Bear Toss goal will be the team’s 100th goal of the season.



Reece Newkirk – Jake Gricius – Seth Jarvis
Kishaun Gervais – Lane Gilliss – Mason Mannek
Simon Knak – Tyson Kozak – James Stefan
Jaydon Dureau – Jack O’Brien – Robbie Fromm-Delorme

Matthew Quigley – Johnny Ludvig
Nick Cicek – Clay Hanus
Kurtis Smythe – Kade Nolan

Joel Hofer
Isaiah DiLaura

Scratches (alphabetically): Jonas Brøndberg (Team Denmark), Gabe Klassen, Cross Hanas

Prince George

Nikita Krivokrasov – Conner Bowie – Filip Koffer
Josh Maser – Tyson Upper – Reid Perepeluk
Craig Armstrong – Ilijah Colina – Mitch Kohner
Davin Griffin – Brendan Boyle – Koehn Ziemmer?

Ryan Schoettler – Rhett Rhinehart
Jack Sander – Cole Moberg
Marco Creta – Ethan Samson or Keaton Dowhaniuk?

Taylor Gauthier
Tyler Brennan

Scratches (alphabetically): Ethan Browne and Blake Eastman


The Portland Winterhawks were out in the community at local Toyota Dealerships to meet with fans and accept entries for the 2019 Toyota Hockey Family of the Year.

The Toyota Hockey Family of the Year contest will give families, regardless of their affinity to the sport of hockey, a chance to win the Grand Prize, a NEW 2020 Toyota RAV4 with an MSRP of approximately $36,000. The Winterhawks have announced the 13 Finalist Families for the Toyota Hockey Family of the Year. Visit to cast your vote. You can vote once per day. The winning family will be announced at the Toyota New Year’s Eve Game against Seattle.

STAY SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | TikTok

More News
Statement from the Canadian Hockey League
10 hours ago
Marian Hossa Elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame
1 week ago
Simon Knak Invited to Switzerland’s National Junior Team Summer Camp
2 weeks ago
Seth Jarvis Invited to Canada's National Junior Team Summer Development Camp
2 weeks ago
Cross Hanas Invited to USA World Junior Summer Showcase
2 weeks ago
Winterhawks Mourn Loss of Harry Glickman
3 weeks ago