Game Day Hub: October 4

Portland Winterhawks vs. Lethbridge Hurricanes

The Portland Winterhawks (3-0-0-0) are the WHL’s lone unbeaten team and they face-off against the Lethbridge Hurricanes (2-2-0-1) tonight in the first of six games against the Central Division.

Puck Drop: 6:00 p.m. PT
Venue: Enmax Centre (Lethbridge, AB)

Listen Live: Winterhawks Radio Network and on the Winterhawks App
Watch Live: WHL Live


The Winterhawks begin their Central Division swing in Lethbridge, Alberta where they play their first of two weekend games before traveling to Calgary on Sunday.

Last season, Portland won the lone meeting against the Hurricanes in a 3-0 final at Veteran’s Memorial Coliseum, with two of those goals coming from alternate captain Jake Gricius. Joel Hofer stopped all 37 shots in the January win. The Hawks are 4-0-1-1 head-to-head against Lethbridge over the last six years.

The Winterhawks have a +8 goal differential, which is good for third best in the Western Hockey League entering October play. Offensively, Portland has been getting it done by committee as eight players are averaging a point-per-game. The Hawks have also found production from their rookie skaters as they are one of just two (Winnipeg ICE) WHL teams to have three first-year players in the top 15 of rookie scoring.

Tonight’s opponent features Buffalo Sabres’ 2019 seventh overall draft pick Dylan Cozens. Since returning from the NHL last week, the centerman has scored in all three games to put him tied for first in league goal scoring (4). His eight points are also third best in the WHL. The Winterhawks will have to find success by shutting down Cozens’ line and defensively, the Hurricanes have averaged three goals against per contest while sharing the load in net between Carl Tetachuk and Bryan Thomson.



Lane Gilliss – Jake Gricius – Robbie Fromm-Delorme
Jaydon Dureau – Reece Newkirk – Seth Jarvis
Mason Mannek – Jack O’Brien – James Stefan
Cross Hanas – Tyson Kozak – Simon Knak

Johnny Ludvig – Matthew Quigley
Clay Hanus – Jonas Brøndberg
Nick Cicek – Kade Nolan

Joel Hofer
Isaiah DiLaura

Scratches (alphabetically): Kishaun Gervais, Nick Perna, Kurtis Smythe


Oliver Okuliar – Dylan Cozens – D-Jay Jerome
Zack Stringer – Logan Barlage – Noah Boyko
Chase Wheatcroft – Dino Kambeitz – Justin Hall
Ty Nash – Alex Thacker

Danila Palivko – Calen Addison
Ty Prefontaine – Koletraine Wilson
Joe Arntsen – Alex Cotton
Rylan Thiessen

Bryan Thomson
Carl Tetachuk

Scratches (alphabetically): Nick Dorrington, Jett Jones

STAY SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | TikTok

More News
Statement from the Canadian Hockey League
1 day ago
Marian Hossa Elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame
1 week ago
Simon Knak Invited to Switzerland’s National Junior Team Summer Camp
2 weeks ago
Seth Jarvis Invited to Canada's National Junior Team Summer Development Camp
3 weeks ago
Cross Hanas Invited to USA World Junior Summer Showcase
3 weeks ago
Winterhawks Mourn Loss of Harry Glickman
3 weeks ago